Posted by: lbnassar | October 25, 2009

A year is a long time.

It’s been a year since I posted – what a year.  The company I work for was bought, merged and came out as a force to be recon’d with.  I have been adjusting to two bosses in two different parts of the country – Maryland and Southern California, not to mention supporting an entire IT site team in Northern California.  Not to mention, messing up my wrist with an extreme sock pattern (I think I need to brow-beat my wrist guy into xrays), sailing more, loving my family, loving HIS family, and attending my 35th High Schoool Class Reunion. Talk about a long time.

I was thinking as I drove south from the Bay Area to Bakersfield, that time is the great leveler.  All of those cliques from high school (and remember it is only FOUR YEARS out of your life) start to dissolve, although not completely.  One evening can only make brief impressions – what people have made their Life’s Work, how many kids, married or not, divorced or not, present or not and Etcetera.  The hope is that over time, more connections can be made, people who had nothing in common then, now find common ground and experiences.  And as we move forward and lose classmates, that we can mourn who they became rather than who they were for those brief years in the early time of our lives.

Responses

  1. I wondered how you fared in the great life tech debacle. Me, not so good… I got sent away with my papers in hand on 12/5. It took 10 months to get a job and I had to switch careers. HR at AB was great, hooked me up with addt’l funds and were easy to deal with.

    I’m glad you made it through. I have no love for AB— my boss told me on 12/4 to make my vacation plans (to France!) b/c no one was getting laid off in our group. She found out at lunch that day and didn’t tell me until the following day. I was pissed.

    • Hi Kate, Yes, so far I am a survivor. Now, we are divesting Mass Spec to Daniher. There could be opportunities there. What did you decide to switch to? Weren’t you doing research, or some kind of lab career? It has been a real roller-coaster ride. There have been a lot of people out with no notice; hard on everyone, including the managers.

      Leann


Leave a Reply

Categories

